Sade : Sasak Village


Small room part of the main house for elderly and new couple :)

Small room part of the main house for elderly and new couple🙂

One of my destination in Lombok is Sade : Sasak Village. I planned to visit this village last year, but because my stupidity and negligence about the flight schedule when I had to go to Bima, Sumbawa Island, so I missed the chance to visit it. But this year, I took the chance🙂.

Sade is located in Central Lombok, if you want to go to Kuta Lombok you’ll pass this village. And this village is near the Bandara Internasional Lombok or some people say it BIL. Sasak tribe known as largest ethnic group in Lombok Island. They are the original ethnic group inhabited Lombok Island for centuries. Sasak society still adhere to and mantain their traditions up to now. As you can see in this village.

Before you may see the whole places in this small village, you have to be accompanied by the guide, the guide could speak Bahasa and English quite well, I mean, well yeah, I could still understand what he is talking about, especially when he talked in English. Hehe.

A guy accompanied me there and told me everything about Sasak tribe. The people in this village is 700 people or 150 householder, consists of elderly, young, and children. The people here are 100% Moslem, now. They live here for 15 generation and they married their cousin. So up to now, there is no one outsider live or married here. All the people job here are farmers. He told me that, the Sasak tribe has 3 kind of house, first Lumbung Padi (granary), house with the small room for “new couple or elderly”, and the small hall in the front of the gate, and a masjid of course.

The stairs made from clay

The stairs made from clay

All the house roof made from weeds and the scaffold from woods. The floor made from clay and the wall made from woven bamboo. The famous thing about Sasak tribe is ‘they usually swob the floor with cow faeces’. They believe that the cow faeces can strengthen the floor. It was really weird for me. I mean, I am an environmental engineer, I knew everything about sanitation, that is really haha, can’t explain. The guy invited me to his house, you may see what I took from his house.

I think the door and the scaffold in the front house is really short, my head hit the bamboo upper the doors. Haha. Or perhaps I didn’t used to live in such a house. The house has two floors. If you want to go upstair, you need to take 3 stairs. He told me, because they have three belief that are animism, Hindu, and Islam. In the upstair I could see a small room and traditional furnace. The small room is made special for woman to give birth, because all the women here don’t go to hospital if they give birth, they usually call the midwife. Oh, the women is indeed created in special on many ways. Haha. Proud to be woman. Yes!

Another tradition about the Sasak tribe is the men normally sleep outside the house, and the woman sleep inside the house. One thing that bothered my mind is, if they still swab the floor by cow faeces, how can they pray in such condition? And the guide told me, they use carpet (tikar) if they pray or go to masjid. Oh, oke. Got the answer.😀

The small room made special for woman to give birth :-)

The small room made special for woman to give birth🙂

The next place is, he showed me about how to weave the fabric. He told me, all the girl and women here must could weave. They learn it start from 9-10 years old. And if the girl couldn’t weave, she couldn’t be married. Ow.. Haha.. Most girls here get married in her 16 – 17 years old. Wow again! I saw a girl was weaving the yarn, she looked so young, maybe younger than me.

A girl weave the yarn..

A girl weave the yarn..

The guide told me that all the material for weaving is from local garden. One of them own land of cotton, most of the color made from natural dyes such as wood, they own the cotton spinning tools which is so simple. So, i was interested to buy a small carpet for pray. It is thin enough and easy to be packed, travelling purpose.

Batik Sasambo

Batik Sasambo

Spinning cotton tool

Spinning cotton tool

What so surprise for me, about their way on marriage. Before we get married, a man used to propose the woman first, and ask her father permission. But here, in Sasak tradition, there is no such a rule as our. Their way of marry named Selarian or Meracik. If a man has a desire to marry a girl, he has to ‘kidnaped’ haha, I mean to take the girl from her house for one day, and the next day he could ask her father to marrying her off. This way believed more honorable than ask for girl’s father permission first. Wow. Haha. It tells us, how deeply the tradition is held.

After he told me everything about them, he invited me to pray in their small Masjid. So here it the photos.

Masjid at Sade : Sasak Village

Masjid at Sade : Sasak Village

Exterior of the Masjid

Exterior of the Masjid

Interior of the Masjid

Interior of the Masjid

See, the masjid is clean, brigth, calm, and peacefull. Before i saw the masjid with my eyes, I imagined, is the masjid’s floor swab by the cow faeces too?? But, after I saw it, I felt relieve ahaha.. It made from the ceramic.

Wudoo' place

Wudoo’ place

Granary known as Bale by Sasak Tribe

Granary known as Bale by Sasak Tribe

 

I asked the guide, about their education. He told me, they got to school as well. But for woman, they don’t take any bachelor title like the men does. But still, the men from Sasak tribe still take the college in Mataram. No one ever takes study out of Lombok Island. But, I think it is much better than nothing. Hehe. So, if you have a chance to visit Lombok. Don’t forget to visit Sade ! It takes less than 1 hour from BIL airport.

 

4 thoughts on “Sade : Sasak Village

    • sorry for late reply, hope you are already reach there anyway. but actually i dont really know about that, maybe you have to rent for the transport: motorbike/car. or you can use taxy. i used the rent car😀

Leave a Reply

