Walking


Solvitur Ambulando

a Latin phrase that means “It is solved by walking”. In an article, Bonnie Smith Whitehouse (an English Professor) argues that walking is a way to be more present, ease anxiety, spark creativity, increase productivity, and detox from digital overload (that is, if you don’t walk with your face in your phone). – Quartz.com

I somehow agree with her. Since I’ve been living in UK, I like walking to anywhere, in fresh air, and wide pedestrian is provided for the citizens. You will not see any kind of bizarre thing here like pedestrian in +62 country. You can walk freely. Walking makes me relax. I spend almost 24/7 at home, so breathing some fresh air while walking is a good way to calm my mind, to ease my anxiety. It is also to keep your body healthy.

I usually turn off my mobile data whenever i am away from home (g punya data 🤣🤣🤣) . It makes me stop staring at digital world, and start to look our surroundings. You can see how nature around us, also the people, you can start your day with talking to people instead of your phone. More than half a day we spend our time in front of the phone, laptop, tablet, etc and many times unconsciously we loose happy moments with kids even your spouse, family and friends.

I love travelling without a phone if i can (but in millennial world today you use your phone almost for anything, from GoogleMaps to pay your toilet entry fee). It is crazy to see your phone is more valuable than a partner 😅😅. My travelling last week, made me question my self, “should i just marry the Mr. Phone?”

Last week i traveled to London, i sat in the middle of a couples (in front my seat) and two middle aged ladies behind. Two hours train journey was spend in front of gadget, both couples busy with theirs. I rarely heard they talked. Different from the ladies, they kept chatting along the journey about anything women can talk, from food to fashion, kids, wedding and so on. I didn’t mean to overheard, but they were loud 😂 so i was able to heard what were they talking about. They even offered a pack of oreos because my 2nd DD made a tantrum and kept crying.

To be honest, i’d like how the ladies can spend their time with chatting instead of busy with their gadgets. I am always bit angry when a person who travels together is busy with their gadget or even worse you can feel he is present but his soul is somewhere else. It feels you are walking alone.

When was the last time i chatted with my spouse during travelling? I don’t even remember 😂😂😂, poor me but i should accept and face it, what can i do? It is when, your existence is defeated by gadget. I am no longer fun to chat with or am i that boring? 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 LOL with tears

Okay that’s fine, already usual thing in life, you know that habitual action.

Back to walking thing, when you need to freshen up your day, walking is the best way to do, it is cheapest, can be done anytime. And anyone can do it.

Leave a comment